Saturday, August 21, 2010
by John McLeod

After finishing in the top five in all 11 races at Southside Speedway this season with no victories, Modified driver Chris Johnson finally put all the pieces together and grabbed his first win of the 2010 campaign this past Friday night on Coca-Cola Fan Appreciation Night.

But the win did not come easy.

Throughout the 30-lap race, Johnson had pressure from the divisions’ top driver, Thomas Stinson. For the final 15 laps, Johnson held Stinson off at both the high and low sides of the track. At times, Stinson would make his move for the lead, only to be stopped by Johnson.

“Man that was a tough one there at the end.” Johnson said of his battle with Stinson in the first of 2 30-lap races for the Modifieds on the night. “I just had to hold the line and do my job and am glad we finally got a victory.”

Mike Rudy, Alan Purser and Kyle Wood rounded out the top five.

Stinson rebounded in the second 30-lap segment and took home his 8th win of the season and, in the process, captured the 2010 divisional championship with one race remaining on the season.

“It feels good to get another win and we were able to wrap it (points championship) up tonight,” Stinson said. “Maybe on the next race we’ll do something special for all the fans for the final race. This is for all the fans. They are the reason we are out here!”

Johnson placed second with Rudy coming home in third. Michael Johnson and Kyle Wood were fourth and fifth, respectively. The Modified division will close out its season on Friday, September 3.

Shayne Lockhart came from the back of the pack after mechanical issues to come across the line first in the 75-lap Late Model Main Event. But, during post-race inspection, Lockhart’s car was found light and then disqualified. The win was awarded to Chris Hopkins, his first of the 2010 season. Chris Dodson came in second with Lin O’Neil finishing third. Eddie Johnson and Brad Davis rounded out the top five.

Mike Chapman grabbed his second win of the season in the UCAR 25-lap main event. Chapman held off Austin Dodge late in the race for the win. Points leader David Kerns finished third with Rusty Bennett and Jason Marshall rounding out the top five.

Jason Higgenbotham grabbed the checkers in the CHAMP Kart main event. Points leader Buzz Moore came home second with JD Eversole finishing third. Brad Davis and Stan Holmes rounded out the top five.

Mike Ganoe picked up his 6th win of the season after starting last in the Street Stock 50-lap main event. Gary Turner finished in second with Justin Dunkum, James Loving and Jason Beck rounding out the top five.

Racing action resumes on Friday, August 27th with the Virginia 125 Late Model Showdown. Other classes in action include the Grand Stocks, the U-Cars and the Street Stocks. Gates open at 6pm with racing kicking off at 7:30pm. For more details, visit www.southsidespeedway.com

U-Cars-25 Laps
1. Mike Chapman
2. Austin Dodge
3. David Kerns
4. Rusty Bennett
5. Jason Marshall

Modifieds (Race 1)-30 laps
1.    Chris Johnson
2.    Thomas Stinson
3.    Mike Rudy
4.    Alan Purser
5.    Kyle Wood

1.    Jason Higginbotham
2.    Buzz Moore
3.    J. D. Eversole
4.    Brad Davis
5.    Stan Holmes

Late Model-75 Laps
1.    Chris Hopkins
2.    Chris Dodson
3.    Lin O’Neil
4.    Eddie Johnson
5.    Brad Davis

Modified (Race 2)-30 laps
1.    Thomas Stinson
2.    Chris Johnson
3.    Mike Rudy
4.    Michael Johnson
5.    Kyle Wood

Street Stock 50-laps
1.    Mike Ganoe
2.    Gary Turner
3.    Justin Dunkam
4.    James Loving
5.    Jason Beck