Wood realizes dreams in 30-lap Modifieds
Longtime Southside fan earns first, then second win at track
Published Saturday, September 1, 2007

FRIDAY - AUGUST 31, 2007
Other Articles
Kyle Wood celebrated his first-ever win in Modified class racing at Southside Speedway last night in high style . . . by winning his second race.

Modified cars ran three 30-lap races at the Midlothian race track in front of 1,900 fans, and Wood took the first and third events.

"I grew up out here watching some of these guys race," Wood said. "So this is a dream come true for me. Billy [Morris] was on my tail most of the way . . . and when that's the case, it definitely gets your attention. He's turned so many laps out here and has won so many races. And he's a great race car driver."

Wood held off Morris -- who finished third, second and third in the three events -- while points leader Thomas Stinson took the checkers in the second race. It was Stinson's 10th win of the year. Mike Rudy, second in points, fought engine problems all night and finished in the bottom five in each race.

Stinson had a shot at taking the first race, but when he was pushing Aubrey Thurston to try to take second behind Wood, he and Thurston made contact, brought out a caution flag and both were sent to the back of the pack. Stinson regained enough ground to finish fourth and Thurston was ninth.

"It was some hard racing tonight," Stinson said. "These 30 lap races are over so fast. Every lap counts, every move counts."

Lauren Edgerton became the second woman to win a race at Southside this season when she took the 30-lap U-Car race. Edgerton, 17, earned her first win. She started on the pole and led to the finish line, gaining a bit of revenge. Edgerton led about half of last week's race before being knocked out by the eventual winner Michael Moore.

"The race tonight was tough, expecially the first few laps," Edgerton said. "But once I was able to separate myself from the field a little bit things were good. It's great to get my first win."

Fred Key took the win in the 50-lap Grand Stock event after Timmy Nice was disqualified for weight problems. John Higginbotham won the 20-lap Macka race.

Southside Speedway kicks off a big weekend of racing in Richmond on Thursday with a 150-lap Late Model Sportsman race and a 50-lap race for Grand Stocks.

Contact Walt Amacker at (804) 649-6554 or wamacker@timesdispatch.com.


Modified #1 (30 laps): 1. Kyle Wood; 2. Billy Morris; 3. Jason Eberth; 4. Thomas Stinson; 5. Chris Johnson; 6. Chris Hoylman; 7. Tiger Williams; 8. Ernie Dettbarn; 9. Aubrey Thurston; 10. Ryan Wilbourne; 11. Slayton Hunter; 12. Ryan Boggs; 13. Mike Rudy; 14. Michael Johnson; 15. Stacey Wilbourne; 16. Rusty Wood; 17. Brooks Lawson; 18. Joey Polevoy

Modified #2 (30 laps): 1. Thomas Stinson; 2. Tiger Williams; 3. Billy Morris; 4. Jason Eberth; 5. Chris Hoylman; 6. Chris Johnson; 7. Kyle Wood; 8. Aubrey Thurston; 9. Ryan Boggs; 10. Ryan Wilbourne; 11. Ernie Dettbarn; 13. Joey Polevoy; 14. Michael Johnson; 15. Stacey Wilbourne; 16. Mike Rudy

Modified #3 (30 laps): 1. Kyle Wood; 2. Thomas Stinson; 3. Billy Morris; 4. Chris Johnson; 5. Jason Eberth; 6. Tiger Williams; 7. Ryan Boggs; 8. Aubrey Thurston; 9. Ernie Dettbarn; 10. Chris Hoylman; 11. Ryan Wilbourne; 12. Mike Rudy; 13. Joey Polevoy; 14. Michael Johnson; 15. Slayton Hunter; 16. Stacey Wilbourne

Grand Stock (50 laps): 1. Fred Key; 2. Daniel Shelton; 3. Richard Skeens; 4. Keith Mackta; 5. Chris Hott; 6. Donnie Newman; 7. Bradley Vaught; 9. Bill Ammerman; 10. Todd Ruggles; 11. Justin Brown; 12. Brandon Vaught; 13. B.K. Wilson; 14. Wayne Cole; 15. Mike Cole; 16. Gary Burke Jr.; 17. Pop Lipford; 18. Woody Ellington; DQ: Timmy Nice

U-Car (30 laps): 1. Lauren Edgerton; 2. Michael Chapman; 3. Michael Moore; 4. Damon Fender; 5. Mike Shiflett; 6. Joshua Thomas; 7. Donnie Johnson; 8. Josh Bruce; 9. Scott Rainey; 10. Derrick Schnarrs; 11. Billy Enroughty; 12. Mark Richards; 13. Tabitha Lipford; 14. Robbie Hinchey; 15. Jonathan Chandler; 16. Stephen Thomas; 17. Chris Farmer; 18. Jeremy Thomas; 19. Lindsay Bryant; 20. Frank Silva

Macka (20 laps): 1. Jason Higginbotham; 2. Brad Davis; 3. Alan Purser; 4. Mark Claytor; 5. Chris Johnson; 6. Pete Fones; 7. Stan Holmes; 8. Mitch Bartholomew; 9. Leroy Devore; 10. Cameron Wood; 11. Lee Johnson; 12. Stanley Holmes; 13. Sean Cook; 14. Mike Webb; 15. Gabe Salisbury; 16. Brian Orvine; 17. Dave Thomas; 18. Alex Vasquez; 19. Ryland Craze; 20. Ben Hammock

Contact staff writer Walt Amacker at wamacker@timesdispatch.com or (804) 649-6554.